FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 
 
 
Most crowded kingdom
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    raceconflicts.com Forum Index -> Suggestion Report
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kaoptro



Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 6:05 pm    Post subject: Most crowded kingdom Reply with quote

I think this value is not correct.
For this values we should have something related to population.
For a correct crowded kingdom more fair is a formula as population/lands and this is an indicator .... maybe population will migrate on high density ...
this could be a new mechanism for game
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now land is something very cheap that everybody can buy with no limit.
I want to fix land before involving it into other stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
dorazdu



Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 193
Location: Bucuresti

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

some ideas about land ....
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
$free_land = 245;//unused land who can be conquered, here is a random number;
$lost_land = max(min($free_land, 1), floor($free_land/100));
so .... over 200ha you will lose 2ha, over 300ha => 3ha, .....;
-> method can be used to transfer gold from one account to another
========================================
$cartographers = 200;
$land_cart = 100;// 100ha/1 cartographer;
$max_land = $cartographers*$land_cart;
if($user['land']>$max_land){
$msg = "Hire more cartographers before buying land.";
}else{
$msg = "";// normal way to buy land;
};
OBS:
1) cartographers number may depend to a certain building(town hall for example ... Razz ... again ... Very Happy);
2) $land_carth may be improve by upg.;
========================================
We may use explorers who descover new lands.
So, you can buy lands after yours explorers descover that lands.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
the best way is to use all 3 conditions.
_________________
n
=> ?
(k!)
k=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx
a progress bar should be introduce so when you click discover new land an amount of time to pass before discovering.


And what about people who have incredible amount of land?

I was thinking of having a defense handicap if you have to much land(more you got harder to defend) and this way people with too much land will sell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
kaoptro



Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bashar wrote:
thx
I was thinking of having a defense handicap if you have to much land(more you got harder to defend) and this way people with too much land will sell.


Or they will lose more land on each defeat in defense!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dikjuh



Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaoptro wrote:
bashar wrote:
thx
I was thinking of having a defense handicap if you have to much land(more you got harder to defend) and this way people with too much land will sell.


Or they will lose more land on each defeat in defense!


What about both?
It just seems more real, if you have more land, it will be harder to defend and if you get attacked, logically you lose more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smile

never thought of that Embarassed

it will be done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
dorazdu



Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 193
Location: Bucuresti

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think we must see the battle from both sides:

defender: $ttl_army_d = 12575;$ttl_merc_d = 250000;$civils = 25257;
attacker: $ttl_army_a = 10575;$ttl_merc_a = 350000;

a) defender;
$free_land = 245;//unused land who can be conquered, here is a random number;
discussion: ??? used land can be conquered ???
$spha = 10;// soldier nead to protect 1 ha;
$mpha = 100;// mercenary nead to protect 1 ha;
$cpha = 500;// civils nead to protect 1 ha;
$land_protect = floor($ttl_army_d/$spha + $ttl_merc_d/$mpha + $civils/$cpha) + 1;
$land_unprotect = max(0, ($user['land'] - $land_protect));
$lost_land = max(min($free_land, 1), floor(min($free_land, $land_unprotect)/100));

b) attacker;
$mcha = 25000;// mercenary nead to capture 1 ha;
$scha = 2500;// soldier nead to capture 1 ha;
$land_conq = floor($ttl_army_a/$scha + $ttl_merc_a/$mcha) + 1;

c) result;
$battle_transf_land = min($lost_land, $land_conq);

i think the idea is o.k but must pass the numbers test.
_________________
n
=> ?
(k!)
k=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem is that at different levels, numbers change and it will be difficult to set them right. +not all soldiers are the same, maybe more units will be introduced in the game, i want to keep everything in percentages cause this way if something in the game changes and maximum soldiers a player can have will decrease drastically, not to go and revise every formula in the game.

maybe it can be done but i still prefer a simpler approach.

We need a coefficient to correctly reflect everything in a very simple and quick way.
I believe offense and defense of a player reflects all upgrades, researches he has.


I prefer to just first compute the difference in percents between the attacker offense and defender defense.
And then 2 approaches that i can think of:

1. Have a table with all levels and how much land a player can lose in one attack at different levels.

2. or just set the maximum land a player can loose in one attack to lets say 1% off all his conquered land.

then based on the difference of attack and defence we take a percent of that 1% and that will be the player's lost land.

EX:
lets say you have 1000 conquered land
You can loose 1% of that 1000 in one attack so you can lose 10 land.
somebody attacks you with offence that is double you defence meaning the difference between your defence and attacker offence will be 50%
So you will lose 50% from 10 land and so he will take 5 land from you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
kaoptro



Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe high numbers will bring to live this game.At least the fights ... conquer land ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am working on this

i will do this the way i said above.

too much land will get you in defense penalties
you will lose or gain more than just 1 land at each attack depending on the difference between attack and defence and your level
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Land is fixed the way is talked in this post(and more).
I added a new research, fixed spy missions to allow stealing and destroying more than just one land, attacking will conquer more than just one land, + something special that you will see when i make the changes.

I am waiting 1-2 days for everybody to adjust the land.
Allowed land is 50+USER_LEVEL*80.
Surplus land is penalized with -1% defense every 100 surplus land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
bele



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Timisoara

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add on the first page how much penalty from "too much land".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

done.

Note that i plan to raise the penalty to 1% for every 50 surplus land.

So is just better for all to just sell everything till no penalty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
bashar
Forum Admin


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 1443
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i decided to auto sell surplus land for 5000gp a piece.
So players who have better prices to sell theirs so that they do not loose money.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    raceconflicts.com Forum Index -> Suggestion Report All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2005 phpBB Group